A DUI is a serious offense that can hurt your present and your future. DUI lawyers can do a great deal to help get a DUI off of your record and help you figure out your next move when dealing with a DUI. There are some common questions when it comes to DUI that you might have, first, do you get a ticket for DUI? The simple answer is yes, you can get a ticket for a DUI. More likely, you are going to get arrested, taken to jail, and you may even lose your license.
Another common question that people have is, can you get jail time for first DUI? The answer for this is also yes. You can get jail time. In most cases you are going to have to spend the night in jail or at least until you are sober. You will then be released to someone that will take you home. Depending on things like if you got a DUI and no license, you may be able to do a deferral program and get your license back. For a third or subsequent DUI offense, you are almost always going to go straight to jail until your court date.
If you have been charged with a DUI offense, your first step should be to find a good lawyer. A DUI conviction can have all kinds of consequences that will affect you for years to come. Once you find dui lawyer, your attorney can help you figure out what your options are and what is the best course for you to follow.
State DUI laws are complicated and vary from state to state. The best DUI attorney can advise you on how the laws affect you and how you can minimize the adverse consequences. A dui criminal record is a very serious matter, and can affect your future ability to secure employment, loans, etc.
DUI laws by state: Ohio
In Ohio, the term used by law enforcement agencies is OVI or operating a vehicle under the influence. This is the equivalent of a DUI or driving under the influence in other states. In Ohio, the implied consent law means that a driver who refuses to take a chemical test automatically faces a fine and license suspension.
A DUI conviction in Ohio can mean a prison sentence ranging anywhere from three days to six months, as well as a fine of $250-1000. There is also a license reinstatement fee of $450 for first-time offenses. You could also lose six points on your license for a first offense.
Can a criminal dui attorney help you?
As the very brief introduction above shows, Ohio has tough OVI laws. But if you find DUI lawyer familiar with state laws and police and court procedures, you can get help you safeguard your rights and control the consequences. By contacting witnesses and recording their statements, visit videos and challenging breathalyzer tests, an attorney may be able to help you build a case for defense. Breathalyzer tests, blood tests and urine tests must be properly administered, or they can be challenged and declared inadmissible in court.
If the defendant has no prior record, the amount of alcohol was negligible and there were no injuries, a plea bargain may be possible. Sometimes the prosecution will accept a plea bargain of “wet reckless,” for a conviction of reckless driving involving alcohol.
A good criminal defense lawyer will have the expertise and knowledge to help you to understand your rights and to deal with the adverse consequences. So if you are facing DUI charges, the best thing you can do is find DUI lawyer right away.